Geet - Hui Sabse Parayee

Geet- clinically depressed ???? - Page 7

Silentsoul thumbnail
Posted: 13 years ago
This content was originally posted by: delhigirl

I am also a physician. I have to take care of patients who go through a lot of depression because they have cancer.

. The patient withdraws to herself and reduces communication with outside world (check)
2. Refuses to eat or take medicine (check, check)
3. Periodic bouts of crying (check, check)
4. Disinterested in many routine activities (check)
5. Disinterested in well being of near and dear ones ( Cases have been reported where in mothers refuse to tend to their children under these circumstances) (check)

i do not agree with your assessment of geet's clinical signs of depression. 
1) geet truly has not withdrawn herself. she does involve herself in normal activities. she goes shopping with pammi, to the tailor with nandini and also to the akhada and showed no signs of disinterest while watching kushti. She has chosen not to answer the questions asked by her family not because she is detached from those questions. She was quite vocal to Dev about what she thought about maan yesterday.
2) As per maan's statement , geet does not like to take medication. he says he knows she will not take her meds. even when she was pregnant, she would not take her vitamins which has been shown in a prior scene. So that is a personality trait of geet which is in many people. Many of my pts, voluntarily choose to refuse a cancer med which is a chronic med. they do so fully knowing the risks and benefits, not because they are depressed.