•  
  • Page of 1 Go
  •  
Posted: 15 years ago
Hi everyone

I am new here but not new to IF or to the fanfiction section. I decided to post a short story i had written earlier. hope u all like it and please don't hesitate to comment.

THE RAIN DANCE

MONSOON MAGIC

"Sir…..you are getting wet on the platform…….please relax in the First class waiting room……this rain could take a while to stop."
"Thanks Mr Station Master…..I am actually enjoying this rain….it's been ages since I experienced the first monsoon ….I love it!"
"Are you new here?"
"Well yes…and no," I chuckled after seeing his perplexed expression, "I am new to your train station……but not to this state…..I used to live in Bhopal."
"So, where do you live now?"
"No where…..and everywhere….uh….Mr Rahul Verma," I checked his badge which looked blurry in the dark, wet night. I knew I had confused this poor young man thoroughly. If he knew me better, he would know that's how I was- never direct, always an enigma for everyone-except for you. Yes….you….the only person who ever understood me, the only person I was not a mystery for……the only person for whom my feelings were always crystal clear…..
Being a professional photo-journalist, I was indeed nowhere and everywhere these days. My folks are still in the UK, where we had moved to six years ago. I have not visited Bhopal since then, but last week when Pete, my boss gave me this opportunity, I could not say no. I have yearned to come back every day of my life, but something stopped me each time. May be it was the knowledge that you were no longer there. That you had moved shortly after we had moved.
"I will be back in my office sir." The wise station master figured it was best to leave this crazy man who preferred to get soaked in the rain rather than enjoy the biscuits and hot tea being served in the First class waiting room.

"Thanks Rahul."
"You are welcome sir."