Look what LATA DI has to say over TANMAY BHAT's controversial Video!

Lata Mangeshkar, Asha Tai and Meena tai comments about the controversial video, while New York Times calls 'Lata Di' a 'So called singer'!

AIB's Tanmay Bhat's 'Sachin Vs Lata - Civil war' video went viral and provoked a public outrage! In the snapchat video by the comedian he mocks Bharat Ratna awardees Sachin Tendulkar and Lata Mangeshkar.

While B'town and political parties condemned the video, look what the legendary singer and her sisters Asha Bhosle and Meena Khadikar has to say over the whole scenario!

When approached by a leading entertainment portal to comment on the issue, replied," I don't know who Tanmay Bhat is, please leave me alone! I have not seen the video and I have no inclination to do so. I will not comment about it." (sic)

According to the report in a leading daily, was quoted saying,"I have not seen the video nor do I intend to. My grandson Chintu informed me about it as I don't even watch television. I don't want to say anything except for we are talking about a woman (Lata didi), who has worked for 70-80 years of her life, spreading joy and happiness through her music. I now want to wait and watch how many people will stand by us. Most people have a knack of debating about it for a couple of days and forgetting about it. Aaplya deshat, Bharat Ratnancha kiti aadar aahe hey baghaycha aahe (I want to see what respect and honour do the Bharat Ratnas get in our country). The government has bestowed this honour upon them. They must make a note of this." (sic)

The report further quotes saying," We don't know who this man is nor have we discussed this issue with Lata didi. Even news channels should follow some discretion and avoid replaying that video on TV as our phone hasn't stopped ringing for the past two days. She is 86 years old. Her health is sensitive and this is the last thing she needs to know."(sic)

"Reacting to the video is giving it undue importance. We avoid talking about these things as it can be misinterpreted and may evoke some other unnecessary controversy. The government should take action against this and people should speak up if they love us. Sachin has achieved so much in his life at such a young age. He has immense respect for didi and vice versa. These are Bharat Ratna awardees. Tyanchya vishayi kahitari ghanerda bolaycha (Talking rubbish about them) in the name of comedy is disgusting. We have nothing against humour, provided it's in good taste. Several comedians have mimicked Lata didi in the past. Johny Lever mimics Asha but they are funny. None of that made us angry. This is repulsive. There's absolute disregard for her age or achievements,"(sic) she adds.

Even former cricketer Vinod Kambli took to his twitter to express his displeasure!

https://twitter.com/vinodkambli349/status/737352057074688000https://twitter.com/vinodkambli349/status/737357069754466304

While everyone is busy fighting and raising their opinions over the video, "The New York Times" reportedly calls India's beloved singer Lata Mangeshkar as 'So - called singer.' Like, seriously?

Here's the picture:

Omkar D Sawant

Your reaction

Nice
Awesome
Loved
LOL
OMG
Cry
Fail
Asha Bhosle Thumbnail

Asha Bhosle

Lata Mangeshkar Thumbnail

Lata Mangeshkar

Comments (16)

I even read somewhere dat Lata wud sleep wid aspiring singers or d singers who wanted to gain stardom. So, she is not at all a virgin as people think since she never married. Singer Bhupen Hazarika's ex-wife told d media dat Lata broke her marriage since she wud call Bhupen at any time n they wud remain 2gthr till night tilld morning. Someone told dat to get atardom in music industry their song has to be sung by Lata for which they have to sleep wid her. Is dis all true? I read all these things in an article. If a person dresses up in simple clothes widout any accessory does not means they r always simple in nature. Never to be get fooled by appearance.

7 years ago

if that was the case that the so called Best of best lataji was singing, due to which the rest of the singers did not get, then why the great honrable madam threw the LP records into the sea of Bole Re Papi hara of Vani Jayaram in Guddi, why Lata threatened Shankar Jaiksihenji to get all his films cancelled if they dare again hired Suman Kalyanpur, and above why lata miss.saint forced Asha to get into marriage first so that she stays away from the music. She never even spared her own sisters. Agar itni hi achhi hai lata mata tho ye sab nahin karna chahiye na if she is the so called best of best.

7 years ago

It doesn't seem like Lataji or Sachin care about what was said/done by this Tanmay guy... than why in the world all these other people care?
Shouldn't we be more focused on more important matters than this silly situation?

7 years ago

Are everyone planning to turn India into Middle-East? Agar unn countries me aisa hota to Tanmay wud have been thrown into jail, whipped, stoned to death or beheaded. I am also angry n disgusted wid Tanmay's insults but politicians r dragging it too much like Shiv Sena doing dadagiri dat if police don't arrest him then they will teach them lesson in Shiv Sena way. Is it really India or some Taliban?

7 years ago

Music directors would have hired all the other singers if they were more talented and versatile than Lata and Asha. They were all good but still a percent below Lata. Can't compare. It was their misfortune that they came into the field when the best of the best was playing it.

7 years ago

@Booteefool

I know today's gen( teens and twenties) has no knowledge about this...
If you're really interested PM me I'll try to explain

Remember there was no internet those days and media was different too but this was common knowledge among folks

EDIT : Maybe age mellowed Lata ji but she seemed to have made an exception for Kavita Krishnamurthy and encouraged her when she was new to the field

7 years ago

Hi Betty... Could you please clarify what exactly the sisters did to ruin up and coming singers careers and lives?
Sorry I'm not familiar with any of the backstory.
One would think if these up and coming singers are afraid to step up to the plate or if these music directors are afraid to sign them... then it's on them for not believing in themselves and the directors for not believing in the talent they considered signing.
I guess since I don't know the backstory, to me it sounds like what is being said is that these new up and coming singers can't be successful because since these sisters are so talented when it comes to singing and because of that no one would be good enough and it's the sisters fault. Which doesn't really make sense to me.

7 years ago

Lata and Sachin border security par shaheed hone wale jawan nahin hai, jo public itna outrage ho gayi hai. it is the mistake of obsession towards these things, no where in the world these celebrities are given importance like this. Yahi kisi aam aadmi ka naam paper mein aaya because he saved an un known from an accident or when he found an unattended bag full of money returned to the police station honestly, then I can understand, in donon ne aisa kaunsa mahaan kaam kar diya, so tanmay ke is comedy mock up par itna naaraaz hogayi public.

7 years ago

@laksh65 Gutsy post!

What Tanmay said was repulsive, crass but Lata ji is a celebrity... Not God

People forget she ruined so many up and coming singers career and life :-(
From Sharda, Hemalatha to Vanijayaram.. The list goes on and on...
Not to mention music directors and producers would not even dream of introducing a new singer Cz they were scared of the sisters

I am a fan of their songs btw

7 years ago

why in after every sentence you write the word[sic]..if you can not correct the the wording than no point of reporting any story ..i am actually sick and tired of you sic reporting

7 years ago

Latest Stories