Star Gold honors the 'Baadshahs of Comedy' of India Cinema

Vodafone Comedy Honors 2008 culminated on Friday May 16th 2008 where Star Gold paid a tribute to comic excellence in Indian cinema and felicitated some of the finest comic talent from Bollywood. Get the winner's list here...

Saturday, May 17, 2008 | 2:44:17 PM IST (+05:30 GMT)   |  Copyright:   |  Comments 4 Comments  |  3512 Views


A month of non-stop fun and masti, loads of rib tickling comedy, blockbuster movies, insights on some of all time favourite stars with comic excellence, hilarious gags, favourite comic scenes and much more!. Vodafone Comedy Honors 2008 culminated with a grand finale event on Friday May 16th 2008 where Star Gold paid a tribute to comic excellence in Indian cinema and felicitated some of the finest comic talent from Bollywood. The honorees in each category were selected by a special advisory panel comprising of reputed filmmakers of the Indian film industry including Satish Kaushik">Satish Kaushik, Nagesh Kukunoor and Vashu Bhagnani.

And the award goes to...

Honor for Lifetime achievement award - Rishi Kapoor

Performer with All round comic excellence - Anil Kapoor

Actor with comic excellence - Jaaved Jaaferi

Actress with comic excellence - Raveena Tandon

Director with comic excellence - Aneez Bazmee

Rising actor with comic excellence - Vinay Pathak

Hrishikesh Mukherjee Socially relevant comedy film - Krazzy 4

Speaking at the event, Mr. Prem Kamath, Vice President –Marketing and Communication, Star India Pvt Ltd., said, "Comedy genre has contributed a lot in the growth of Hindi film industry in the past decade. Understanding the pool of comic talent Bollywood has to offer, we introduced Vodafone Comedy Honors, a pioneering initiative from Star Gold to salute the stars and honor the personalities who have contributed in bringing a smile on everyone's face through their comic performances in the Indian Cinema. This season too we have paid due recognition to all the comic talent."

The Star Gold Comedy Honors 2008 grand finale was hosted by versatile and talented actor Jaaved Jaaferi interspersed with gags by Joshi">Swapnil Joshi and Sunil Grover. The show kick started with a nostalgic performance by Jaaved Jaaferi performing on his chartbuster songs over the years, from Meri Jung to the recent blockbuster Dhamaal. The audiences were also entertained by svelte and suave Lara Dutta's performance on sizzling numbers including Aisa jaadoo daala, You are My love, Jhoom Barabar Jhoom. That's not all; her performance become even more interesting and lively when comic icons like Munnabhai, Baburao and Circuit also shook a leg with her.

Adding to the excitement, the sultry Sameera Reddy paid a tribute to charming and versatile actress Raveena Tandon for her immense contribution to the Indian Film Industry. Sameera performed on some of Raveena's chartbusters like Yeh Raat (Aks), Kissi Disco mein Jaayen( Bade Miyan Chote Miyan), Shehar ki ladki, (Rakshak) Akhiyon se goli maare, (Dulhe Raja). Last but not the least Tushar Kapoor performed on the songs of his favourite stars from Amitabh Bachchan, Dharmendra, Jeetendra to Mithun Chakraborty!

Leading to the on-air telecast of Vodafone Comedy Honors 2008 Grand Finale, Star Gold continues to give its viewers a dose of round the clock comedy with Salaam-e-Comedy every Monday–Friday at 8.30 pm. Beginning June 1 - June 7, viewers can also look forward to Hasee ka Hafta– round the clock hungama of blockbuster comic movies throughout the day along with compilation of 101 greatest comic scenes from Indian cinema.

So get ready for a fun filled ride of laughter and entertainment as STAR Gold presents the Vodafone Comedy Honors 2008!

Share this News on your Social Network.

User Rating Rating(6 Votes)
  ~*puja*~, divingdolphin21, Artemisia, -DulceMaria-, yipee, umi82990

User Comments & Ratings

Join India Forums for free to comment on this story. Have an account already? Use Quick Login to comment.

Dear Readers,

  • Please do not use derogatory comments in reply to the stories published on Telly Buzz, India-Forums.
  • The credibility of the site matter to us, and the comments in bad taste tend to invariably hurt the actors/production house/channel etc.
  • So kindly, refrain from creating an unhealthy atmosphere for all, and keep your comments constructive.
  • Also, please use the Rate It button if you want to just thank the author for posting the story.

Related Celebrities

Amitabh Bachchan Amitabh Bachchan

Mithun Chakraborty Mithun Chakraborty

Raveena Tandon Raveena Tandon

Anil Kapoor Anil Kapoor

Rishi Kapoor Rishi Kapoor

Lara Dutta Lara Dutta

Swapnil Joshi Swapnil Joshi

Sameera Reddy Sameera Reddy

Jeetendra Jeetendra

Sunil Grover Sunil Grover

Vinay Pathak Vinay Pathak

Vashu Bhagnani Vashu Bhagnani

Satish Kaushik Satish Kaushik

Hrishikesh Mukherjee Hrishikesh Mukherjee

Joshi Joshi

Satish Satish

Related Channels


  • Posted on: 18 May 2008 at 9:58amPriya_SD

    thnx but raveena as actress w/ comic excellence??? kinda weird
    wut bout juhi chawla?
    shes pretty good

  • Posted on: 18 May 2008 at 1:25amdangerous don

    well,juhi got that award last year and Raveena had done some nice movies wid Govinda that's why she got the award

  • Posted on: 17 May 2008 at 5:26amFateBeChanged


    other nominees r good...but its really funny to see raveena tandon's name in there...i don't recall a single movie where she diplayed her comic excellence..even her acting skills were nuthing to boast abt..juhi deserved this award

    well javed jafferi is really good...he's def d most underrated actor-performer..good thing he is getting this award...but i am really pleased to see vinay pathak's name there...he's exceptional in comic scenes..he was so good in bheja fry

    thanx for the info

  • Posted on: 17 May 2008 at 3:55amglamritz

    mmhh .. where's Juhi and Sri Devi in the list? They are the best actresses in bollywood with the best comic timings.

    And Anupam Kher is missing too.. Paresh Rawal as well .. They deserve too!

Tellybuzz News Releases Articles Index

Telly Buzz Search


Disclaimer: All Logos and Pictures of various Channels, Shows, Artistes, Media Houses, Companies, Brands etc. belong to their respective owners, and are used to merely visually identify the Channels, Shows, Companies, Brands, etc. to the viewer. Incase of any issue please contact the webmaster.