Politics News

Last updated: Saturday, November 15, 2014 12:12:04 PM

Citing Mamata, BJP seeks CBI probe into Azad killing
New Delhi, Aug 10 (IANS) The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Tuesday said the government should order a CBI probe into the killing of Maoist leader Cherukuri Rajkumar alias Azad as a union minister had suggested that it was a staged shootout.

Tuesday, August 10, 2010 7:19:07 PM

Manmohan calls for early local body polls in Kashmir
New Delhi, Aug 10 (IANS) Prime Minister Manmohan Singh Tuesday called for early elections to local bodies in Jammu and Kashmir and stressed the need for reinvigorating peaceful political activity on the ground to enhance popular participation in governance.

Tuesday, August 10, 2010 7:05:09 PM

Kalmadi writes to Congress MPs, says open to scrutiny
New Delhi, Aug 10 (IANS) Commonwealth Games Organising Committee chief Suresh Kalmadi Tuesday wrote a letter to Congress MP and said he was open to scrutiny even as allegations of corruption in preparations for the Games continued to rock parliament.

Tuesday, August 10, 2010 7:03:48 PM

Text of PM's speech on Kashmir
New Delhi, Aug 10 (IANS) The following is the text of Prime Minister Manmohan Singh's speech on Jammu and Kashmir:

Tuesday, August 10, 2010 6:51:34 PM

BJP MPs to contribute money for Leh relief
New Delhi, Aug 10 (IANS) The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Tuesday said that each of its MPs will contribute Rs.10,000 towards providing relief in Leh where flash floods have caused the death of at least 165 people.

Tuesday, August 10, 2010 6:37:48 PM

Opposition united on Mamata bashing, divided on CWG protests
New Delhi, Aug 10 (IANS) The opposition was a study in contrasts in parliament Tuesday, uniting to condemn the government over Railway Minister Mamata Banerjee's speech questioning the manner of a top Maoist's death but divided when it came to protesting the preparations for the Commonwealth Games.

Tuesday, August 10, 2010 5:45:03 PM

BJP demands action against Kalmadi
New Delhi, Aug 10 (IANS) The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Tuesday demanded action against the Commonwealth Games Organising Committee chairman Suresh Kalmadi over alleged irregularities concerning the showpiece event.

Tuesday, August 10, 2010 4:51:14 PM

Depute Rangarajan for Kashmir economic plan, Soz asks PM
New Delhi, Aug 10 (IANS) Expressing hope that the all-party meeting called by Prime Minister Manmohan Singh will apply a healing touch to Kashmir, Jammu and Kashmir Congress president Saifuddin Soz said he had sought the services of economist C. Rangarajan to prepare an employment plan for the state.

Tuesday, August 10, 2010 4:42:32 PM

Opposition walk outs during Gill's CWG statement
New Delhi, Aug 10 (IANS) Indicative of the divisions within the opposition, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA), the Left parties, the Samajwadi Party, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) and the AIADMK separately walked out of the Lok Sabha Tuesday during Sports Minister M.S. Gill's reply to the debate on the preparations for the Commonwealth Games.

Tuesday, August 10, 2010 4:35:31 PM

Ready for any inquiry into CWG: Gill
New Delhi, Aug 10 (IANS) Declaring that he was ready for any inquiry into the preparations for the Commonwealth Games (CWG), Sports Minister M.S. Gill said Tuesday that tainted officials had been suspended from the Organising Committee under pressure from his ministry.

Tuesday, August 10, 2010 3:57:56 PM

News Politics Articles Index


This Week's Most Discussed

This Week's Most Emailed News

Feature Coming Soon..

Art - Culture Business Diaspora
Education Health Politics
Religion Sports Sci-Tech


Asia America Australia
Africa Europe Gulf-Middle East
Pakistan Nepal Bhutan
Sri Lanka Bangladesh Maldives

Disclaimer: All Logos and Pictures of various Channels, Shows, Artistes, Media Houses, Companies, Brands etc. belong to their respective owners, and are used to merely visually identify the Channels, Shows, Companies, Brands, etc. to the viewer. Incase of any issue please contact the webmaster.