Politics News

Last updated: Friday, July 25, 2014 12:00:03 PM

Each Left party to review poll reverses individually
New Delhi, May 17 (IANS) Leaders of the Left parties Sunday announced that each party will individually review the reverses suffered by them in the 2009 general elections.

Sunday, May 17, 2009 5:15:58 PM

Chiranjeevi, Jayaprakash Narayan among new faces in Andhra assembly
Hyderabad, May 17 (IANS) The Andhra Pradesh state assembly will have 132 new faces but some of them are not unfamiliar to the people in the state.

Sunday, May 17, 2009 5:15:43 PM

Meena beats Bainsla, Congress' Rajasthan tally is 20
Jaipur, May 17 (IANS) The Congress has won 20 Lok Sabha seats from Rajasthan, as central minister Namonarain Meena defeated Gujjar leader K.S. Bainsla of the BJP from the Tonk-Sawai Madhopur constituency after a recount Sunday.

Sunday, May 17, 2009 4:56:12 PM

BJP to decide on opposition leader: RSS
New Delhi, May 17 (IANS) The Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) Sunday said it would support the Bharatiya Janata Party's (BJP) every decision if Leader of Opposition in the Lok Sabha L.K. Advani steps down.

Sunday, May 17, 2009 4:56:02 PM

Unhappy Azam Khan quits as SP general secretary
New Delhi/Rampur (Uttar Pradesh), May 17 (IANS) Capping weeks of discontent with the party, especially over its association with Kalyan Singh, Samajwadi Party (SP) leader Azam Khan Sunday resigned as the party general secretary as well as parliamentary board member citing the SP's 'closeness to communal forces'.

Sunday, May 17, 2009 4:39:57 PM

Congress' Yaskhi springs surprise win as stalwarts lose
Hyderabad, May 17 (IANS) The simultaneous elections to the Andhra Pradesh assembly and Lok Sabha threw many surprises and notable among them is the victory of Madhu Goud Yaskhi of the Congress party in Nizamabad constituency despite the defeat of party stalwarts in the assembly segments.

Sunday, May 17, 2009 4:34:30 PM

YSR's performance, credibility behind Congress magic in Andhra
Hyderabad, May 17 (IANS) The Congress in Andhra Pradesh has created a record of sorts by retaining power for a second consecutive term - the first time in three decades and by also contributing a major chunk of Lok Sabha seats for the United Progressive Alliance (UPA).

Sunday, May 17, 2009 4:27:13 PM

Replacing Advani would be painful: Sushma Swaraj
Bhopal, May 17 (IANS) Responding to speculations of L.K. Advani quitting as the leader of opposition, senior Bharatiya Janata Party leader Sushma Swaraj Sunday said it would be 'painful' to replace him.

Sunday, May 17, 2009 4:27:02 PM

All Congress, BJP women candidates win in Madhya Pradesh
Bhopal, May 17 (IANS) Though political parties often quote the 'winnability factor' as the reason why women candidates are not given their fair share of party tickets, all the six women fielded by the Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in Madhya Pradesh won the Lok Sabha polls this time.

Sunday, May 17, 2009 4:22:46 PM

Advani's decision in BJP's interest: Murli Manohar Joshi
New Delhi, May 17 (IANS) L.K. Advani's decision to step down as Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha and accept responsibility for the BJP's electoral debacle was taken in the interest of the party, senior leader Murli Manohar Joshi said Sunday.

Sunday, May 17, 2009 4:16:13 PM

News Politics Articles Index


This Week's Most Discussed

This Week's Most Emailed News

Feature Coming Soon..

Art - Culture Business Diaspora
Education Health Politics
Religion Sports Sci-Tech


Asia America Australia
Africa Europe Gulf-Middle East
Pakistan Nepal Bhutan
Sri Lanka Bangladesh Maldives

Disclaimer: All Logos and Pictures of various Channels, Shows, Artistes, Media Houses, Companies, Brands etc. belong to their respective owners, and are used to merely visually identify the Channels, Shows, Companies, Brands, etc. to the viewer. Incase of any issue please contact the webmaster.