Penkie06 thumbnail
Anniversary 9 Thumbnail Group Promotion 6 Thumbnail + 3
Posted: 6 years ago
A few years back, I had decided not to get married until I got a job. I completed my masters in English, did a B.Ed, and started searching for a suitable job. I was yet to find one, when my father summoned me one day, and asked me to get married to a boy of his choice. I was devasted to know that my parents had secretly been advertising for my marriage, whereas I always knew that they were ready to wait until I earned for myself. My father had planned it well. " I have an ulcer in my mouth. I may die soon. " 
And for him visiting a doctor was less important than getting me married to an engineer boy who had liked my photo. I escaped to my masi (aunty) and cried throughout the night. She supported me but had no say over my parents. Moreover, my father was sort of blackmailing me. 
On the very day when the boy's family (excluding the boy) was coming to visit me, the reports to my dad's mouth ulcer came out to be perfectly normal. I could only glare at them. I even left home for an interview despite my mom's shouts, much as a protest. 
Anyways, I returned home before my to-be-in-laws arrived. And I didn't like them at all in the first place. Specially the lady who claimed to be the boy's mother was just beyond my cup of tea. The boy's uncle had come along with his mother, and my father had taken him upstairs after dinner for some private talk sessions. The dinner was another episode. The lady made atypical noises while eating, and I felt giddy. What uncivilized people! I looked at mom who was equally disturbed. After dinner, she sat on the sofa and instead of asking for a towel, wiped her hands in her saree, her face too! I almost fainted while my mother was horrified. This was the family of an engineer?!