Debate Mansion

India-Forums

Debate Mansion
Debate Mansion

Why do Indian kids have to study a major which pleases their parents?

LoveProfusion IF-Sizzlerz
LoveProfusion
LoveProfusion

Posted: 24 April 2016 at 10:58am | IP Logged
It seems that Indian kids these days can't study a major they want to.  It is all about pleasing the parents.  I studied business/finance because it pays well but I have been working in this field for many years without happiness.  Why do Indian kids have to study a major which pleases their parents?  Please share your thoughts.  Shocked

K.Universe. Goldie
K.Universe.
K.Universe.

Posted: 25 April 2016 at 1:28pm | IP Logged
Originally posted by MrMadonnaCicone

It seems that Indian kids these days can't study a major they want to.  It is all about pleasing the parents.  I studied business/finance because it pays well but I have been working in this field for many years without happiness.  Why do Indian kids have to study a major which pleases their parents?  Please share your thoughts.  Shocked

I would think the ones paying for the college tuition, living expenses and more, should definitely have a major say in what direction the kid(s) should head after the 12th grade. Even setting aside the funding aspect of it, most parents, I presume, have a better idea than the kids themselves regarding the kids' potential, after having raised them for 18 years or so and after having seen them from close quarters. They would know how to do the risk-reward analysis from the point of view of the kids' potential and aligning it with external reality.