Page 1 of 6

Page 1
Page   of 6
Page 2 Page 6

shweta2728

IF-Dazzler

shweta2728

Posted: 15 October 2013 at 4:22pm | IP Logged
Well last week I had a substitute teacher for Math (I'm a high school student) and he was struggling to pronounce my name (I live in the US). My name is Shweta. I pronounce my name Sh-way-ta...so ya its a bit americanized, my kindergarten teacher called me that so ever since I started going by that. Okay so back to my math class. A guy in my class said to me, "You should change your name, its too hard." Well me being me, I had to say something back. So I said, "If someone can't say my name, its not my problem its theirs then why should I change my name? Besides if you went to Japan and they said that your name was hard to say, would you also change your name?" I have nothing to be ashamed of my name, instead I'm proud of it. Proud that my name is not too common here. It seems like every girl in my class is named Ashley, Maddy, Emma, or Sarah. Having a different name is not a bad thing. And my name is very special to me because my grandma named me and I've grown up with this name. When I have kids, I will also give them Indian names and teach them to be proud of their name, their culture, and most importantly themselves! Now I'm not criticizing people who do choose to change their names, its entirely up to them because its their life. I don't know what experiences might have led them to a decision similar to this.

Would you change your name if it was hard to pronounce or "different"?
What would you have done if you were in my place?
Please discuss any of your thoughts, experiences, and questions about this issue.

I look forward to what all of you have to say! Big smile

Edited by shweta2728 - 15 October 2013 at 4:22pm

The following 5 member(s) liked the above post:

Desigirl_21SakhileChandni.epiphany..KuchiMama.Ds