Debate Mansion

Did anyone grow up with abusive Indian parents ? (Page 3)

Post Reply New Post

Page 3 of 6

Page 1 Page 2
Page   of 6
Page 4 Page 6

Loving2011

Loving2011

Posted: 08 November 2012 at 2:57pm | IP Logged
Originally posted by XVIRUS

a VERY SENSITIVE TOPIC
 in a way i can relate to u ..No i was not physically abused or anything,But my parents have certain issues with themselves and they always involve me in their fights since childhood ..My father never gave me time ,so he doesn't understand me and my mother has serious psychological issues , though both love me , But my personality is entirely different than them ..SOMEHOW i feel isolated , I am in final year of my masters ..I might leave my city ,but these two people with their issues ruined my childhood ..I will never forgive them for that .
Always remember ,You
 came in world alone , you will leave alone ..No one is more important than yourself ..Just because they are parents ..they are not GOD .In ur case certainly not...

Sorry to hear that and glad to hear that you are staying strong, and focusing on your career.

I have written forgiveness letters to my parents (for my own self), but it can take awhile to process. If I don't forgive, I will have a hard time attracting a loving partner. Not forgiving is like carrying a bag of bones, but you have the right to handle them as you wish.

I only started this topic just to see how common my experience was, but everyone is right that it's a delicate thing for people to talk about.  The ones with the most dysfunctional families probably won't come forward!