Sa Re Ga Ma Pa Singing Superstar

Interview with Shankar Mahadevan :)

OrangeSoft Goldie
OrangeSoft
OrangeSoft

Posted: 21 March 2006 at 2:30am | IP Logged
  Shankar mahadevan

BREATHLESSLY YOURS

Today, he's a music director and singer, juggling his time between singing and composing the music scores for ad films, South Indian and Hindi films, personal albums, doing stage shows, dubbing and touring all over the world with his Swedish group - 'Mynta' and Indian group - 'Silk'.
Taking time off from his busy schedule over a glass of thanda paani, he answers my questions cheerfully.

How did music happen to you?

Right from the age of three and a half I have always been a musician, always tinkering with musical instruments. One day, I just started playing an old harmonium, lying around the house. That was the day my parents realized I was a natural. So I started learning the Veena at the age of five and a half. I learnt Carnatic Classical music for the next 15 years and did a lot of stage shows. As I was staying in Bombay, I got an exposure to a wide repertoire of music - Western groups, Hindi music, Hindustani Classical and of course Carnatic Music, as my roots are Tamilian. I've never had a problem as far as language is concerned, as every language has a certain vazhan, which I have been able to grasp.

When and how did you start professionally?

Well, I started with singing for ad jingles around 1993-94 and moved on to ethnic combinations with world music. Ranjit Barot introduced me and I did some famous jingles like the one for Cadbury's and Pepsi. I started singing for films, when Zakir Hussain asked me to sing for Ismail Merchant's 'Muhafiz'. After that of course, there was no looking back.

You've become a trio now…