India-Forums

'I am a dimwit...!': Rupali Ganguli

monika.goel IF-Stunnerz
monika.goel
monika.goel

Posted: 10 March 2006 at 3:17pm | IP Logged
'I am a dimwit...!': Rupali Ganguli

http://www.tellychakkar.com/y2k5/march/23march/feature_rupal i.php

"I am Monisha. Completely. I am a dimwit, I bargain even at Shopper's Stop, I am a terrible cook, and, yes, I am very

Rupali Ganguli: Making an impression!

clumsy," laughs Rupali Ganguli, who plays Monisha in Star One's Sarabhai vs Sarabhai.

This, from a lady who has done such a wide array of roles that could easily make other actors on the telly, green with envy!

Sample this --- a double role in Dil Hai Ki Manta Nahi, a negative character in Star Plus' Sanjivani, a mentally unbalanced girl in Sahara's Zindagi Teri Meri Kahani, a prostitute in Bhabhi, a politician in Star Plus' Kahaani Ghar Ghar Kii and her favourite, Monisha, a stingy middle-class housewife in an upper middle class household, in Star One's Sarabhai vs Sarabhai. All these characters being as different from one another as chalk from cheese.

Surprisingly, Rupali has also managed to act in one of the saas-bahu serials, without being typecast as a long suffering bahu! "I have done enough of that in Sanjivani, heavy make-up and the jewellery. I want to do something different every time, otherwise, however big the banner, I am not interested," says Rupali vehemently.

With co-star Sumeet Raghavan
Suddenly the media cannot have enough of her, it seems. People have started to see her as a serious actress and she has realized that her hard work has paid off. She still finds it a little disconcerting that people recognize her on the streets and she tells us that her mother constantly reprimands her for not dressing up properly, when outdoors, saying," Ab log dekhte hai." ( Now people recognize you!).