India-Forums

Bollywood News, Bollywood Movies, Bollywood Chat
Bollywood News, Bollywood Movies, Bollywood Chat

From scuba-diving to Bollywood!

sheetald IF-Rockerz
sheetald
sheetald

Posted: 10 March 2006 at 10:17am | IP Logged

It's not every day that Saif Ali Khan says yes to a new director. And Homi Adajania knows he's lucky.

But he also knows he has an unusual script, the kind that would make actors want to do the film. It's how the 34-year-old also managed to convince Naseeruddin Shah, Dimple Kapadia and Boman Irani. Yes, Being Cyrus has a stellar cast, and an interesting story.

It had to be different. After all, Homi's not your regular Bollywood director. He has had no training in the field, doesn't see the need to network in film circles, and is a professional scuba diver!

He chats with Ronjita Kulkarni about his new film, due for release on March 24.

After I graduated from St Xavier's College, Mumbai, I wanted to become a commercial diver. But I couldn't afford it, so I worked with ad filmmaker Mahesh Mathai. I then started freelancing as a writer, and later became a scuba diving instructor. I've been one for eight years now, diving in Lakshadweep. I then joined an American adventure sports company.

At around this time, Kersi Khambhatta had written a short story, which was rejected by a magazine because the language was too strong. I knew it would be my first film. I wrote the screenplay with Kersi before approaching Boman Irani. I had a cast in mind, and was lucky to get everyone I wanted.

The fact that I was a first-time director was not a problem. Every actor wants to do something different. I needed each actor for eight days, and Saif for 12 days. We shot the film in 32 days, in one schedule.