Page 1 of 2

Page 1
Page   of 2
Page 2 Page 2

sowmyaa

IF-Dazzler

sowmyaa

Posted: 08 February 2006 at 1:28pm | IP Logged
Debaters, I've never worked in India myself so I am not exposed to professional life much…so I am posting whatever I know from Bollywood movies and some from what I've heard from friends…

I have seen that in India employees are expected to do more than their job duties. e.g. in movie and TV show they show that if you are a boss you kind of rule your employee like assistant is expected to bring coffee/tea for boss or sometime help him/her with her personal things related to home. Like we see copps in India expect "havaldar" to get grocery for their home etc.

I've been working in US since last 7 years and I have not seen anything like this here. My boss makes his own coffee and cleans his own desk. We don't call them as "sir" but just by their name rather than giving them any salutation no matter how old they are or if he is President of a company. I am not expected to do anything more than my job description and salute my boss. I really like this approach here.

Wanted to see what individual have to say and if you agree with me or disagree about Indian Employer lacking professional appraoch.

Dear Guest, Being an unregistered member you are missing out on participating in the lively discussions happening on the topic "Professional Approach- India vs Abroad" in Debate Mansion forum. In addition you lose out on the fun interactions with fellow members and other member exclusive features that India-Forums has to offer. Join India's most popular discussion portal on Indian Entertainment. It's FREE and registration is effortless so JOIN NOW!

NeetikaNath

NeetikaNath

Posted: 08 February 2006 at 1:45pm | IP Logged
wht u've seen is mostly only in movies- u need first hand experience to be able to judge the difference in india and abroad

sowmyaa

IF-Dazzler

sowmyaa

Posted: 08 February 2006 at 1:51pm | IP Logged
Originally posted by NeetikaNath