Posted: 08 May 2011 at 8:14pm | IP Logged
Good question! I was also curious but wanted to confirm my answer. So here it goes:
-Amba Ji and her family is Vaishnav Gujarati.
-In hinduism according to the Sanatana Dharma, foods have been categorized into 3 sects; Raajasic, Taamasic and Saatvic.
-The ones that are strict observers like the Gandhi's they avoid the first two sects of food. The reason being they stir desire and promote mental dullness. Therefore, Saatvic food is advised and preferred amongst these strict vegetarian's.
-What is Saatvic food you may ask? "Sattvic food is that which is pure, clean and wholesome. A sattvic diet is food that gives life, strength, energy, courage and self-determination. In other words, sattvic food gives us more than the gross physical requirements of the proper mix of proteins, carbs and fats etc. It also gives us the subtle nourishment necessary for vitality and consciousness. Food is seen as a carrier of the life force called prana and is judged by the quality of its prana and by the effect it has on our consciousness." This quote mentioned was referenced from the following website: http://www.yogachicago.com/jan05/diet.shtml
. Some examples are: Home made yogurt, organic milk, mangoes, mung beans, sprouts. . .
-In western societies we consider Garlic, almonds, banana oysters, chocolate, honey and etc foods as an aphrodisiac. Simply because research says they increase libido, produce sperm, increase hormones or release serotonin. It makes you happy, increases your chance of pregnancy or 'desire". . . <-- I think you can defer the meaning aphrodisiac now.
- If you take a look at Jainist, they are also strict vegetarian's (Varies from person to person and how strict one's beliefs and values are) Some food we would assume to be vegetarian is surprising not according to Jainist beliefs..
- Some believe that it promotes negative energy, also you bring upon bad karma
-In sum, there is not one type of vegetarian. If you look at the big picture, there are egg-tarians, fish-tarians, vegans and so on. All depends on what you believe and tolerate.
I hope that helps answer your question. I also would like to emphasize that I did not intend to offend anyone with all that I have mentioned. If I am wrong or stated a wrong fact, my sincerest of apologizes. Please feel free to correct me or expand on the written.
Edited by virgo24 - 08 May 2011 at 10:45pm