Page 1
Page   of 5
Page 2 Page 5

-Ranjha-

IF-Stunnerz

-Ranjha-

Posted: 29 April 2011 at 6:55am | IP Logged
Bhansali, Shabinaa team up to co-produce Akshay-starrer 'Rowdy Rathore'
Friday - Apr 29, 2011, 04:42pm (GMT+5.5)
[+] Text [-]

New Delhi -  Acclaimed filmmaker Sanjay Leela Bhansali has teamed up with designer Shabinaa Khan to co-produce the interestingly titled movie "Rowdy Rathore", which is his first film with Bollwood star Akshay Kumar.

For the first time Bhansali is indulging in an out-and-out actioner that will also star Sonakshi Sinha.

"To me an action film is totally an alien concept. At this juncture as a filmmaker, I want to move out of the comfort zone and do things that are new and untried," Bhansali, known for mangnum opus like "Devdas" and "Hum Dil De
Chuke Sanam", said in a statement.

Southern star Prabhu Deva will wield the megaphone for the movie. He showed his magic when he went behind the camera to direct Salman Khan in "Wanted" that turned out to be one of the biggest hits of 2009 and now he is expected to break stereotypical boundaries of the action genre with "Rowdy Rathore".

"I'm very excited about my first production film 'Rowdy Rathore', which is a hardcore action masala flick and with such a talented team on board. Pray the audiences will love," said Shabinaa.

Akshay, known for actioners like "Khiladi" and "Mohra", will return to hardcore action with the film. In recent times, mostly seen in funny films like "Singh Is Kinng" and "Namastey London", the 43-year-old star will undergo rigorous physical training in preparation for the role that will have top notch action and choreography.

"The dynamite combination of Sanjay Leela Bhansali, Akshay Kumar and Prabhu Deva calls for a film that is aesthetically larger than life packed with mind blowing stunts and impressive choreography. The film has box-office
success written all over it
," said a trade source.