Research on English in India

Poll

Difference between British and Indian English?

Poll Choice
Login To Vote
ohio thumbnail
Posted: 13 years ago
hEY GUYS

I need your help for my school-project, which is about English in India.
Please help me by casting your votes.

Thanks

Created

Last reply

Replies

Views

Users

Frequent Posters

-DE- thumbnail
Anniversary 13 Thumbnail Group Promotion 2 Thumbnail
In UK their no difference really left. 90% of the Indian Youth in Uk have a britisch accent I think the britisch laugh about indian accent
NotYourType thumbnail
Visit Streak 500 0 Thumbnail Anniversary 14 Thumbnail + 5

Hmm...Well I am an Indian born and brought up in India. I started learning English when I was 10. Being a science student my learning process included less of conversing in English and more of written/technical English.
As to your poll options, here are my responses -
I don't like if someone complains about my accent - I have not come across any britisher who complained abt my accent. I try to talk slowly and clearly.

If I find MY Indian accent funny - No. You should ask this question to any britishers/british born Indians, they would be able to answer this better.
Do I feel unconfortable while speaking in Indian accent - NO. I don't even realise how I am talking as I am concentrating on the language more than the accent.
Am I ashamed of my Indian accent? - NO. Why should I be? If a britisher starts talking in Hindi or any other Indian language, should they be ashamed of their accent?
It is difficult to understand British accent - Sometimes, when they talk too fast ๐Ÿ˜•. Also there are some peculier york, scottish accents which I find particularly incomprehensible. But that's okay. I try my best and leave the rest to the luck of person talking to me ๐Ÿ˜†You see for me accent is LEAST important as long as I get the GRAMMER right and am able to convey my meaning correctly.  I do feel ashamed if I make grammatical mistakes though๐Ÿ˜ณ