India-Forums

Preet Se Bandhi Yeh Dori... Ram Milaayi Jodi
Preet Se Bandhi Yeh Dori... Ram Milaayi Jodi

Putdowns for girls family and background

April2007 IF-Dazzler
April2007
April2007

Posted: 20 January 2011 at 7:24am | IP Logged
I think mutual respect is a cornerstone of all normal relationship. I cannot believe that Mona's saas and bui and the grandmother constantly insult Mona by putting down her upbringing, putting down Punjabi culture and her family.

It will be very hard for me to live in a household in which my parents, my background is constantly and openly insult and thrown in my face as bad and horrible. This kind of constant abuse is the reason and total control by the family is the reason most girls don't have good relationship with their in-laws.

Mona like many other daughter in laws  would remember all these insults, she will remember all the heartache and extreme disrespect,  when sasau ji will get all she old, she get all this back with interest.

Edited by April2007 - 20 January 2011 at 7:25am

desi-indian Senior Member
desi-indian
desi-indian

Posted: 20 January 2011 at 10:38am | IP Logged
I agree with you and I think the Ambaji and her saas and Bauji are very rude to Mona all the time. They should show some understanding towards Mona and should understand that how would Mona know how to cook gujrati food?

They should be nice to her and try to teach her everything and all rituals of gujrati family instead of taunting her all the time...

I am not siding with Mona and I think she did wrong by accepting the food from her family but I think the elders should also try to understand her and help her...
April2007 IF-Dazzler
April2007
April2007

Posted: 20 January 2011 at 1:58pm | IP Logged
Originally posted by desi-indian

I am not siding with Mona and I think she did wrong by accepting the food from her family but I think the elders should also try to understand her and help her...