Originally posted by bDgT

@Jazz: On that note, we have some unfinished business, can I rely on you to guide me there and can we complete it - I am asking in all earnestness and seeking your help.

I remember yaar....I am on leave from tomorrow....I am going to devote my time to that issue henceforth.
WOW....Online tutorials!!!🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣
Finally the post is becoming enlightening!!!! Good going  Jazze and Anjana....  👏

Jyoti, please dont close the topic now!! I would like to know about the legal stuff!!!!
Edited by Rolzz - 13 years ago
In the changed definition of the networked world Jazz some of the IPC fall on the way side when it comes to Cyber Bullying and Cyber Harassment - whatever is said on the Internet can be classified under Cyber Laws

http://www.ncsl.org/default.aspx?tabid=13495

http://www.stopcyberbullying.org/lawenforcement/telling_the_difference.html

http://www.cyberbullying.org/

What is happening in some of the threads could be construed as flaming, cyber bullying, and cyber harassment.

if one can prove this in a court of law, the cases are air-tight nowadays and not so lax as in the nascent days of Internet.

Even in India, you can file a case of Cyber-bullying and Cyber-harassment as there is precedent there to support newer cases and Case law supports it.

And the Internet Crime Complaint Center does take cases of Cyber Bullying under its radar as well as the Mumbai :Police's Cyber Crime Center.

EDIT:

Jazz, awaiting our discussion on that matter with a lot of interest and hope :)))

EDIT Again:

Some more links:

http://www.suite101.com/content/it-is-against-the-law-to-bully-a55728

http://www.google.co.in/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=7&ved=0CE4QFjAG&url=http%3A%2F%2Fdrjaishankar.googlepages.com%2Fcbullyingjaidebaratiliveit.pdf&rct=j&q=Cyberbullying%20and%20Cyber%20Harassment%20Laws%20in%20India&ei=9rYZTd2CDcfWrQebqeiSDA&usg=AFQjCNH4nsPJt-ZEzEkVHITSDK8MC6SuHg&cad=rja [Download the book]

http://www.cyberbullying.us/

Edited by bDgT - 13 years ago
Hmm is the post still about unfair judgement by the mods😭 or about legal system🤔😆...because I m confused whether to keep it open or close it😕😆...

Ok on a more serious note..let me tell you'll that we mods don't get any pleasure to close a post,in fact we r more under pressure while doing so...ask why ?😳..because when we get reports from the members against a particular thread,we go through the thread first,if the report is found valid and the thread actually violates the IF's COC,and we mods don't take action ,then the members who reported the thread will find the mods biased and unfair in their moderation and mayb a topic will b opened for it and if we take action as per the rules of IF and close the thread,even then a topic will b opened against us saying we don't give freedom of speech...so now tell me from which angle anyone feels Mods get pleasure closing topics when our reputation is basically at stake 24/7 in both ways😊...Think about it..keep yourself in our place and then judge😊

Anyone who is wondering what r IF's COC..plss go through this topic ...I hv not made these rules...😊

The above rules r even more strict than what r actually implemented in this GF😊

Yes freedom of speech and democracy is important and I agree..reason why before closing any topic I ask the topic maker to edit the stuff which is violating the rule...only when thats not followed ,action is taken but with a valid explanation....Democracy or freedom of speech does not give us the right to misuse that power in a public place😊

I hope we all can call it peace now...
Edited by jyoti06 - 13 years ago
Peace out Jyo and rest

Well put Jyo: Mods are not gods and one should understand the constraints under which they work.

I hope those who call you unfair realize how fair they are in their statements.

I can vouch for your fairness and fairplay a 100 times over if that is gonna make them less angry and more pragmatic.

Come again, now Im really lost!!!  😆
@Jazzerrette - thank you for elevating the debate.  I would contend. Unsubstantiaed posts about anyone maybe harmful: Be the target Jo, Jake, Me, U, GC. or AB.  

All of us did sign of or agree to the IF COC, so we can't now pretend we didn't and become willfully blind.  

Jo and IF reputation has been damaged by constant unsubstantiated allegations of bias/impartiality, etc..  India Forum's may not promote her again and not all moderators do it for free...she maybe denied opportunities elsewhere if there Fb pages dissing her moderating. It may harm her job opportunities - Economic harm and potential psychological harm that maybe a by-product of the bullying she theoretically experiences (i.e. there are people hating her for no reason that i can comprehend.  2/15 posts closed of 1 individual is not persecution that I grasp.).  Say that all the unneeded stress results in her taking time off work.  See a shrink.  Then u have economic loss flowing from the psychological loss.  (Again defamation, libel, & slander are not my bread & butter...am going by my gk law knowledge about what constitutes harm)     

Similarly, G.C.'s reputation continues to be damaged by link-ups with co-stars then it will lower his brand value.  He may not get offered family ET shows because he is perceived as a "cheater".  It is not there yet....but, is it outside the realm of possibility he won't  get less offers if his image is tainted?  Am using his an example, but the same applies for DD.  If she is thought to be a homewrecker - she might not get offered "parvati" type roles.  Those suggesting he compared his co-star to an animal definitely harmed his brandname.  To be clear i am point my finger at them not Jake!        

And if harm was soooo difficult to prove then there would not be out of court settlements of tabloids paying of celebs ( i.e. - there are loads more - this is just the tip of the iceberg):

Is India law that much more inept?  And is there something to bar individuals being sued instead of jurnos when they are publishing/blogging in a public forum?  Only diff is lack of deep pockets, but sometimes the message might be worth forgoing money for justice.   And if words have the power to hurt then why use them as weapons to damage another's reputation.  What is the phun or funny in that?  How is it productive?  Does it enrich the show?  You want to have a private conversation about somebody's reputation then don't do it in a public forum.  
Edited by AnjanaYYZ - 13 years ago
Originally posted by bDgT

In the changed definition of the networked world Jazz some of the IPC fall on the way side when it comes to Cyber Bullying and Cyber Harassment - whatever is said on the Internet can be classified under Cyber Laws

http://www.ncsl.org/default.aspx?tabid=13495

http://www.stopcyberbullying.org/lawenforcement/telling_the_difference.html

http://www.cyberbullying.org/

What is happening in some of the threads could be construed as flaming, cyber bullying, and cyber harassment.

if one can prove this in a court of law, the cases are air-tight nowadays and not so lax as in the nascent days of Internet.

Even in India, you can file a case of Cyber-bullying and Cyber-harassment as there is precedent there to support newer cases and Case law supports it.

And the Internet Crime Complaint Center does take cases of Cyber Bullying under its radar as well as the Mumbai :Police's Cyber Crime Center.

EDIT:

Jazz, awaiting our discussion on that matter with a lot of interest and hope :)))

EDIT Again:

Some more links:

http://www.suite101.com/content/it-is-against-the-law-to-bully-a55728

http://www.google.co.in/url?sa=t&source=web&cd=7&ved=0CE4QFjAG&url=http%3A%2F%2Fdrjaishankar.googlepages.com%2Fcbullyingjaidebaratiliveit.pdf&rct=j&q=Cyberbullying%20and%20Cyber%20Harassment%20Laws%20in%20India&ei=9rYZTd2CDcfWrQebqeiSDA&usg=AFQjCNH4nsPJt-ZEzEkVHITSDK8MC6SuHg&cad=rja [Download the book]

http://www.cyberbullying.us/

None of them are Indian sites? 
@Jazz: The important fact is that the Mumbai Police had registered cases under Internet Laws and NASSCOM as well as other organizations support it.

Secondly, there have been prosecutions and even cases upheld in a court of law in India in Cyber Crimes that does not just include loss of property, spam, but also includes cyber-harassment, stalking, bullying.

EDIT:

IC3 takes care of worldwide Internet crime and works with the local policing and crime divisions.

As of now, I would NOT like to provide the procedures and protocols in this matter, but Cyber Bullying and Cyber Harassment are crimes that are punishable offences