Miley Jab Hum Tum


Miley Jab Hum Tum
Miley Jab Hum Tum

Kalakar Awards- Article

anaitha123 Groupbie

Joined: 29 January 2008
Posts: 85

Posted: 23 January 2010 at 9:49am | IP Logged
Kalakar Awards

Posted On Friday, January 22, 2010 at 04:06:02 PM
The 18th edition of the Prayag Kalakar Awards took place on January 17 at Science City auditorium. A galaxy of

Rituparna, Dev and Aftab

Bollywood and Tollywood stars attended the event to receive their respective awards for excellence in the field of cinema, television and entertainment.

The event began on a somber note with the crowd observing one minute of silence to pay tribute to ex-chief minister, late Jyoti Basu. After a shlok from the Gita, and a hymn sung by Mousumi Das, comperes for the evening Shakil Ansari and Sweta Ttiwari took the floor and announced the inauguration of the Kalakar Awards.

The Lifetime Achievement awards went to Ruma Guha Thakurta. Bollywood star Aftab Shivdasani was welcomed by the audience with gusto for the best actor award along with his Tollywood counterpart Dev for Challenge. Rituparna Sengupta and Swastika Mukherjee received best actress awards for Aaina Te and Brake Fail respectively. Goutam Ghosh won the best director for Kalbela.

For television, the best actor award went to Arjun Bijlani and his co star Mohit Sehgal, both popular as Mayank and Samrat in the Star One serial Miley Jab Hum Tum. Laali of Agle Janam Mein Mohe Bitya Hi Ki Jo (Zee TV) and Sandipta Sen for Durga (Star Jalsa) received the best actress awards. For the year's best new faces on TV, the awards went to Karan Mehra as Natik in the serial Yeh Rishta Kya Kehlata Hai (Star Plus) and Tina Dutta as Ichcha for Uttaran (Colours Viacom). Tarak Mehta Ka Ulta Chashma was adjudged the best television serial for 2009. The Kalakar award for best channel award was won by Aaj Tak.

The awards were punctuated by some scintillating dance performances by dancers from Padatik. The highlight of the evening however was a medley of five dance sequences interwoven to create a spell on the audience by Indrani Dutta's dance troupe, Shrishti.    

The winners for the best playback singer award for their work in respective Bengali and Hindi segments were Jojo for Mon Mane Na and Rekha Bharadwaj for her chartbuster – Sasural Genda Phool from Delhi 6. Asha Bhonsle's grandson Chintu Bhonsle claimed the Best Album award for his album Sapne Suhane. Kolkata's very own Sanchita Bhattacharya was declared best rising star. Sugandha Misra who won the star entertainer award once again proved why she was such a hit at the laughter challenge show when she regaled the audience with her remarkable voice resemblance to Lata Mangeshkar.

The grand finale was the Kalakar Achiever award given to Udit Narayan who humbly accepted the award and at the crowd's request, sang several of his chartbusters including Papa Kehte Hain and Jaanam Mit Gayee Dooriyan.§id=98&contentid=2010012220100122160602863e156540b§xslt=

The following 39 member(s) liked the above post:


abb01 IF-Dazzler

Joined: 03 November 2009
Posts: 4680

Posted: 23 January 2010 at 9:52am | IP Logged
Sayank Clap
wickedangel IF-Dazzler

Joined: 19 November 2009
Posts: 4702

Posted: 23 January 2010 at 9:52am | IP Logged
YAY!!..mohit also won best actor award!DancingDancing...thanx for the article hon!!Hug

The following 4 member(s) liked the above post:


-Jyotika- IF-Sizzlerz

Joined: 29 October 2009
Posts: 12106

Posted: 23 January 2010 at 10:03am | IP Logged
yippiieeeee...!!! Party Party mohit won best actor..!!!! Party Party Party soooo muchh proud of him... n arjun too..!! Embarrassed

The following 5 member(s) liked the above post:


anaitha123 Groupbie

Joined: 29 January 2008
Posts: 85

Posted: 23 January 2010 at 10:04am | IP Logged
ur most welcum Gina

The following 1 member(s) liked the above post:


aashizin IF-Stunnerz

Joined: 15 November 2009
Posts: 27401

Posted: 23 January 2010 at 10:05am | IP Logged
kal se le kar good news hi aa rahe hai yar pehale mjht is not going off air ,then sajan track and now mohit also won award with arjun mjht rocks yar Party Party

The following 3 member(s) liked the above post:


NaBoleTumNa... IF-Rockerz

Joined: 07 July 2007
Posts: 8373

Posted: 23 January 2010 at 10:17am | IP Logged

If you think this is an error please Contact us.
Angle. IF-Rockerz

Joined: 21 September 2009
Posts: 9854

Posted: 23 January 2010 at 10:19am | IP Logged
Sayank rocks

Thanks 4 the article

Go to top

Related Topics

  Topics Author Replies Views Last Post
Arjun bags the kalakar award

2 3 4 5

Author: -skylark-   Replies: 34   Views: 3249

-skylark- 34 3249 24 January 2010 at 5:42am by altejasvi
IIT Awards!

Author: Luv_jenni02   Replies: 3   Views: 733

Luv_jenni02 3 733 16 December 2009 at 9:25pm by -Gaganjot-
9th ITA - 2009 Awards Discussion

2 3

Author: adits7   Replies: 19   Views: 2572

adits7 19 2572 15 December 2009 at 1:26pm by NaBoleTumNa...
MonayaJun- ITA awards

2 3 4 5 6 7 ... 12 13

Author: JennyPenny   Replies: 100   Views: 14322

JennyPenny 100 14322 13 December 2009 at 11:51pm by -Preeti-
Mahan Kalakar Adhiraj!

Author: venugr   Replies: 6   Views: 1012

venugr 6 1012 13 December 2009 at 5:40am by aashizin

Forum Quick Jump

Forum Category / Channels

  • Please login to check your Last 10 Topics posted

Check these Celebrity also

Disclaimer: All Logos and Pictures of various Channels, Shows, Artistes, Media Houses, Companies, Brands etc. belong to their respective owners, and are used to merely visually identify the Channels, Shows, Companies, Brands, etc. to the viewer. Incase of any issue please contact the webmaster.

Popular Channels :
Star Plus | Zee TV | Sony TV | Colors TV | SAB TV | Life OK

Quick Links :
Top 100 TV Celebrities | Top 100 Bollywood Celebs | About Us | Contact Us | Advertise | Forum Index