Debate Mansion

In wake of SKS: censorship/moral responsibility?

Post Reply New Post

Page 1 of 2

Page 1
Page   of 2
Page 2 Page 2

--arti--

Goldie

--arti--

Kasturi, RKS Banner Contest Winner

Posted: 10 August 2009 at 8:52pm | IP Logged
Hi all, I'm new to the debate mansion. Good to be here..

I have been following the recent debates surrounding Sach Ka Saamna, where some people are arguing that a show like this should not air at all. I am going to disregard that view as totally reactionary, but I will consider the following view put forth by Smriti Irani that such shows should not be on prime time because kids could watch it. I don't know if I agree, but I think it is an arguable point.

I assume many of us would be against either absolute freedom of speech or downright moral censorship. So where is that "in between" space for you?

Do you think that TV programs should consider their moral responsibilities in society? If so, to what extent, and what parameters would you suggest? Where should we draw the line? A good argument that has been raised is that SKS is not doing anything all that different from Saas-Bahu shows, some of which are regressive and promote superstition and sexism, and show women as totally dependent on men and restricted by a billion traditions. On the other hand, I have also seen some people argue that shows like Agle Janam are vlalourizing "immoral" anti-marriage behaviour (I disagree).